jump to navigation

Weekend Project(s) – Entertainment Center Turned Play Kitchen & Repurposed Furniture October 30, 2009

Posted by Sindy in Weekend Project(s), Woodworking.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

My sister sent me a great link this weekend – someone turned their old entertainment center into a play kitchen for their daughter! (http://suttongrace.blogspot.com/2009/06/repurposed-entertainment-center.html) It is so cute with “stainless steel” appliances and a lovely window looking out onto a gorgeous landscape.

Here are some pictures to illustrate:

Before - the old entertainment center

Before - the old entertainment center

After - the new play kitchen

After - the new play kitchen

This is a really great idea, but I think we can take it farther – how about turning more old cabinets (whether entertainment centers or not) into other play “rooms.” For instance turn an old chifferobe into a castle window seat! Turn some kitchen cabinets into a play laundry room. Turn an old dresser into a dollhouse (the kind with the closing house front).

In fact, you can even do this in reverse – turn a dollhouse into a decorative cabinet! Here’s one that was turned into a lovely cabinet for the laundry room:

Comments»

1. Christy - March 19, 2011

What a beautiful little play kitchen. My daughter would have LOVED this when she was littler….heck, I would have loved this! Oh, who am I kidding? I think I’d STILL play with this. ;)

Sindy - March 21, 2011

Oh yeah. If only I had some nieces. I need an excuse to make one. ;)

2. Kelly - June 12, 2012

Sindy,,,, You could make them and donate to a needy family… Think of how much this would be appreciated!!!!! Do not let anything stop you,,, let your excuses go, and just do it!!!! Love and blessings to all! <3

Sindy - June 13, 2012

That’s a great idea! I could even auction them off and donate the money if I can’t find a place to donate them. In fact, there is an event around her called The Dollhouse Festival. They would love a play kitchen like this!

I also learned that they don’t need to just be for girls. My sister is building one right now for her son. He loves playing with some toy food she picked up at Ikea, so she’s making him his own little kitchen.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

