jump to navigation

Twice the Projects = Twice the Fun, Right? October 13, 2009

Posted by Sindy in Journal.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

I put away the crocheting this morning. I finally finished yet another pair of baby booties and it was time to move on to something else. But before I continue with that maybe I should tell you some background details.

I like to keep multiple projects going at any one time. No, I don’t paint with one hand and Tat with the other (that would be just plain silly – for one thing I don’t know how to Tat with only one hand… yet), instead I have an array of projects sitting out in various stages of completion waiting for me to pick which to do at that very moment.

I do this for a couple reasons: 1) I get bored easily (I’m sure all you artistic types out there can relate), and 2) portability. Yep, you read right – portability. I have different projects for different parts of the day and different locations & situations.

So, let’s get back to the crocheted booties and give you an example: I’m making some beaded flowers for some of my cousins at the moment, but beading isn’t very portable. All those tiny beads, you practically need a whole suitcase for all the tools, and it’s nigh impossible to not spill everything if you try to do it in the car. So, I leave the beading at home (I work on that if I get some TV time), I take the crocheting with me as I commute to work with a friend (he can drive, I’ll crochet), and if I have some time before work starts (since my friend takes the car with him, it’s his anyway, he drops me off early) I work on my comic strip (which fits neatly into my purse so I can work on it whenever I have a spare moment during the day).

But as I said before, I put the crocheting away. I had been crocheting some baby booties and dishcloths to donate to a couple of functions (the Dollhouse Festival and a cancer fundraiser for a friend of a friend), but since they were done and donated to it was time to move on.

Next up – tatting!!! I’m thinking I will try (again) to make enough tatted snowflakes to give as Christmas gifts (but I won’t do all 50+ of the extended family this time, maybe just immediate family and close friends).

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

