jump to navigation

I Think I Like Southern Cooking – Lowcountry Boil or Frogmore Stew December 8, 2009

Posted by Sindy in Cooking.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I loooooooooooove flavor! Deep, rich, wonderful flavor. I love garlic, onions, and peppers (the flavorful ones, not the super hot ones), and I’m starting to get the idea that Southern food has a lot of flavor.

This past Halloween at the office party, one of my coworkers, who’s from somewhere down south, made a wonderful dish chocker-block full of flavor, potatos, shrimp, sausage, and others of my favorite foods. Oh, it was so good. So when my birthday rolled around this past week I asked for the recipe. (Luckily I asked because I thought it was a non-soup version of gumbo – yes, I’m pretty nieve.)

Here’s what he sent me plus a couple more that I found (after learning the true name for it):
The original that my coworker sent me
SC Frogmore Stew
Frogmore Stew

We ended up doing kind of a combination of all three, starting with one of the smaller recipies since we aren’t a very big family. We just used the Old Bay seasoning since we can’t find crab boil around here, and we decreased the seasoning and left out the Tabasco since my family doesn’t like spicy food. It turned out really good and everyone enjoyed it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

