jump to navigation

Delectible Doilies on Etsy January 12, 2010

Posted by Sindy in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I admit, I’m a doily girl! No, I don’t have doilies all over my house (I probably should though), but I do enjoy making doilies.

Well, yesterday I surfing around etsy when I came accross a most fascinating doily at Ottoman’s shop (for one thing it was going for $40 which is sadly unusual for a doily, and for another she calls it a Personalized Painted Doily). I just had to check it out:

Painted Doily

So here’s the gig: She takes the letters of your name and arranges them in a circle to create a one-of-a-kind painting that looks like a doily (if you can see it, the doily above says “Summer”). Fascinating.

Of course, I had to check out what other cool doily items I could find on etsy:

Doily Pillow

A Crocheted Doily Pillow
Why didn’t I think of this?! I’m not a big fan of doilies on my couch armrests, but this is a great way to display a doily without covering it up with a vase!

Doily & Birdcage Vintage Corner Bookmarks

Doily & Birdcase Corner Bookmarks
What lovely victorian paper bookmarks! And being corner bookmarks, it’s better for the book.

Vintage UpCycled Skirt

TOAST Vintage UpCycled Skirt
Okay, new word: UpCycle. Which apparently is a lot like freecycling. It means to take something that is useless and turn it into something new and often better. This skirt includes a wonderful tatted doily on the thigh, and some fascinating patchwork lace around the bottom. I’ll have to remember this one for my collection of unfinished tatted snowflakes.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

