jump to navigation

The Dragon’s Treasure – Too Many Talents Original Idea March 31, 2010

Posted by Sindy in Weekend Project(s).
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

*huff, huff* Oh, phew. That’s quite a climb back up from falling off the face of the planet. *pant, pant* This is harder than I thought.

Anyway, I have a special treat for you guys – An official Too Many Talents original idea!

First, some history of this oh-so-fabulous idea (I know, my opinion of myself is kind of high today ;)): I was cruising one of my favorite blogs The Dainty Squid. The blog’s author (Kaylah) always has some fascinating photos on there. Today, it was a photo of a fascinating piece of art that looks like a scaly whale:

Scaly Whale Wall Art

Of course, I can sometimes be too logical for my own good. Whales don’t have scales! That got me thinking – but Dragons do! πŸ™‚

That would be fun, making a scaly dragon wall art thingy. So, continuing the thought process – what to make the scales out of? Then it hit me like a water balloon πŸ˜‰ – I collect samples of things like fabrics, wallpaper, patterns, etc. that I like. Why not make the dragon’s scales out of those? Cool! Awesome art AND functional!

And of course, if you’re not particularly a fan of dragons, you can certainly make a fish, or a lizard, or something else that’s scaly. Or you could make something that isn’t usually scaly like a whale.

I personally would make it easy to take the samples off (so you could take it to the store to show the clerk), so maybe something like a dragon shaped cork-board. (Hey! That would also help the “scales” stick out from the board!) Oh yeah, this will be fun! XD

Comments»

1. kseverny - March 31, 2010

oh wow. this is cool


Leave a Reply

