jump to navigation

Christmas List – Bumble Bots (WIP) December 11, 2010

Posted by Sindy in Favorite Instructables.
trackback

Okay, first I need to make a correction. I’ve been calling them Bumble Bots, but apparently they’re Rolly Bots (a little robot inside a ball that makes the ball randomly roll around the floor).

I have three really fun nephews, all under the age of three, and all very precocious and curious. Their favorite things to play with are buttons, especially if the button results in something like lights or noise. They are also 100% boys and love cars and balls (and the eldest is showing an affinity for guns too, despite my preferences). So, I think they will love the rolly bots I blogged about earlier. (Okay, so the rolly bots don’t have buttons and lights and noise, but I’m planning on adding a switch and I still think they’ll love them.)

So, again I need to make some choices. The one in the video in my earlier post uses a scrub brush, a vibrating motor from a massager, and two AAA batteries to roll around an extra large tennis ball. I don’t have most of those supplies, but the bristle bot (the little robot that goes inside the ball) that I DO have the supplies for another bristle bot which isn’t going to be big enough for any tennis ball, and I’m not sure what kind of ball it WOULD work in.

So, buy the supplies for the big one, or try to find a ball for the small one? I do have a bunch of balls so I might be able to find one that works. i.e. I think I’ll try option #2 first.

One last note, I’m thinking I’ll want to add a switch, but of course, I don’t know how I’m going to attach it so it’s accessible (so the boys don’t take the ball apart in the process) without being in the way of it rolling. I guess I’ll figure that out when I get to it.

Comments»

1. What I Did This Weekend « Too Many Talents - December 20, 2010

[…] I sawed off the heads of the vibrating toothbrushes getting ready to start making the rolly bots for my […]


Leave a Reply

