jump to navigation

What I Did This Weekend December 13, 2010

Posted by Sindy in Journal.
trackback

Baking. Wrapping. Headaches. That basically wraps up my weekend. I was sick for essentially the whole weekend (mostly headaches of one type or another) with just enough time in there to do some baking, gift wrapping, oh, and a smidgen of cleaning.

So, on to the fun stuff. 1) The Baking: Today I have two Christmas parties (one for work, and one for a church group) and since I need brownies for both (and since I don’t like brownies – sorry, not a big chocolate fan – I know, I’m wierd) I decided to bake what are called blondies. Blondies are basically the same as brownies, but they use white chocolate instead of brown. I made two batches. One with pecans (since I’ve discovered that more people can eat pecans than other nuts), and one with cherry chips (they’re kind of like white chocolate chips with cherry flavor – and to my utter dismay red food coloring). For my two parties I combined the two batches so each party gets the same number of each flavor.

I also baked up some white chocolate macadamia cookies. (Do you get the idea I like white chocolate?) Last month a coworker’s daughter sold me some pre-formed cookie dough (i.e. the dough was already in the size and shape for cookies and all I had to do was put them on a sheet and bake – yeah, it was nice, but maybe not $14 nice) for a school fundraiser. Anyway, so the dough had been sitting in my freezer for a month and I finally got around to baking it. Of course, I didn’t know what to do with the cookies after I had baked them, so I’m taking them along to the parties.

Finally, The Wrapping: For my sister I had bought a spring form baking pan (a real nice one gauranteed not to leak), and since I didn’t want my brother-in-law to feel left out I got a box of cheesecake mix. I wrapped up the cheesecake mix for him, and I wrote a note saying it goes best with my sister’s gift. 😉 As for the spring form pan, I had some extra fun wrapping it as if it were a giant candy. I think everyone will get a kick out of it.

As an extra gift (and since it conveniently presented itself) for each of the families of my immediate family (my Mom & Dad, my brother’s family, my sister’s family, and of course myself) I bought each family a very nice pedigree chart. My Mom had majored in Geneology in college, so my family has always had an interest in our family history. Plus these charts have all sorts of great information including siblings, aunts and uncles, etc. There’s one side for the Mom’s family, and one side for the Dad’s. I also figure it will be very useful for married couples (let’s see, your my new husband’s aunt…. Martha!). Yeah, so since those came in a tube (you can’t see what it is beforehand) I just put a gift tag on each. I also plan to buy some pens to go with them. Yeah, I think this will be a pretty nice Christmas (at least from me).

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

