jump to navigation

My First Meatloaf/Meatballs! December 18, 2010

Posted by Sindy in Cooking.
trackback

Woohoo! I made my first meatloaf, the meat mixture anyway, which I turned into meatballs! I got the idea from our office assistant (or whatever her title is).

So, here’s the recipe I used:
– A pound of ground meat (I used turkey sausage)
– One shredded potato (optional)
– 1/2 C. quick oatmeal (optional)
– One shredded carrot (optional)
– 1/2 C. bread crumbs (optional) (I used tortilla crumbs since that’s what I had)
– Salt & Pepper to taste (I forgot to add this, but it would have been good)

Most meatloaf recipes I’ve heard of add some ketchup too, but I don’t know how much (1/2 C.?)

Mix it all together until it’s well blended (it’s fun to mix it with your hands (clean of course), but I’d recommend you wear gloves cause that meat should be cold). Pull out a clean, empty cardboard egg carton (yes, you read right – a cardboard egg carton). DO NOT use a styrofoam carton!!! I didn’t grease the carton, but it’s something you could try. Now form meatballs (about the size of a ping-pong ball or golf ball) and drop each one into each of the cups in the egg carton. You can remove the carton lid and put it underneath as a tray. Now just microwave the meatballs for about six minutes. Make sure to cut one open to make sure they’re cooked.

For the sauce she used a hot sauce she found at Costco called Jamacain Me Crazy (it was really good – if you like spicy food). She also suggested mixing grape jelly with chili relish (need to get the recipe) for a kind of sweet and sour sauce. I didn’t have either, but I had some chipotle bbq sauce which was really good on them.

So easy, really good!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

