jump to navigation

What I Did This Weekend December 28, 2010

Posted by Sindy in Journal.
trackback

Well, part of what I did this weekend is obvious – I enjoyed Christmas – but the details are the fun part. For Christmas Eve dinner I went to my brother’s and enjoyed enchiladas. Oh, and the Sugru I got for my Dad finally came on Christmas Eve!

On Christmas day I made pancakes for breakfast, and It took less than an hour to make it! Yes, for me that’s a new world record. Mom is thuroughly enjoying her new stair lights (and I think they look lovely on the stairs), and Dad is at least curious about the Sugru (which is a pretty big reaction for him). I decided I didn’t have enough time to make the rolly balls for my nephews, so I got them PJs instead. My oldest nephew who loves cars walked around with them saying “cars” and “jammas.” It was cute.

For lunch I made sandwiches (yes, the idea was that I’d cook all the meals), and then helped my Mom with some last minute Christmas baking, then it was off to my grandparent’s. Grandpa liked his black licorice, and Grandma was thrilled with her new slippers. She even loved that they were the aboniable snowman from the old rudough movie. In return they gave me a snuggly blanket wrap (you can sort of compare it to a snuggie, but it was a totally different thing).

Finally we stopped by my sister’s in-laws, who are also friends of ours, to deliver presents for my sister’s family. I think she liked her new spring-form pan, and it was a good thing I included a cheesecake mix cause she wasn’t sure what to do with it. I was supposed to make pizza for dinner, but our friends (my sister’s in-laws) invited us to stay for dinner. I need to get her recipe for potato casserole (aka “funeral potatoes” or “sour cream potatoes”) and her enchilada adaptation. Oh, and besides the wonderful art stuff my sister gave me (including a real drawing manaquin and a “how to draw people” book XD ) she gave me a rice cooker! I can’t wait to try it out.

On Sunday I was talking to a friend of mine who told me about Ham Loaf (which is apparently like meat loaf but made with pork products, including ham), and she told me about a fun Christmas idea: She had entered her Dad into a drawing for a $1,000 gift card at a hardware store, which he won, and since he’s frugal that’s where everyone’s Christmas came from. I think that’s a fun idea! (Of course, I’m not your average girl – I’d rather get a soldering gun than jewelry.) You might not win a $1,000 dollar shopping spree at your local hardware store, but pick one store (it’d be more fun if it was non-tradition, so no Wal-Mart), and the entire family gets to shope for Christmas there, within a budget of course.

And since my weekend extended into Monday, I’ll tell you what I did then too – after Christmas sales. I made my way over to Wal-Mart in the quiet morning and made a bee-line to the Christmas lights. I found a battery-operated string of LED lights, but since it was green, I also got a string of regular white LED lights. I’m hoping I can combine the two. I also grabbed some heavy duty wrapping paper to try making my own gift bags (I had tried before, and they turned out beautiful but very flimsy). Oh yeah, loads of fun for me. 🙂

Now for this week, since it’s the week before New Year’s I thought I’d cover some New Year’s resolutions, both mine and some you might be doing.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

