jump to navigation

What I Did This Weekend January 3, 2011

Posted by Sindy in Journal.
trackback

I MADE LED THROWIES!!!!! (In case you can’t tell, I’m excited about that.) Last year I had snagged a bunch of LEDs in the Christmas Closeout sales, and this year I bought some button batteries at my local dollar store and since I already had a few magnets lying around I pulled out my pliers and invisible tape and made four little throwies. It isn’t much, but it’s a beginning. They were sooooooo fun!!! I showed them to my Mom by throwing them onto her dishwasher. She thought that was fun (but caution me about chipping the paint). Now I just need to get my hands on a bunch more supplies (and super cheap).

I also made breakfast on Saturday. I made a nice spread with sausage, hash browns, apples, and bread with cherry preserves. It was delicious, but the best part was that I made it under an hour again. I guess I CAN cook in a decent amount of time, I just need the time to do it.

Let’s see, Mom’s been wondering about tatting up a bunch of ornaments to sell (we’re not very good at sticking to a project though, so I’m not holding my breath), so I helped her pick some possible patterns. I also helped by trying out wrapping a metal ring in tatted knots. It took me three hours to do a one hour job. Next time I’ll use a tatting shuttle instead of a ball of thread.

Come on, come on, think. I know there was something else I wanted to mention. Oh yes! The last gift this year – a calendar for my friend. I think I mentioned that she’s a huge fan of my comic strip that I haven’t even debuted. I thought I’d make a calender for her featuring my characters (plus the character she invented). Anyway, last week, I think it was Wednesday, I realized that there was no way I was going to finish it at my current rate. I wanted to just take my hand drawings and paste them into the calendar, but I had drawn them on lined paper (with writing on the back). NOT professional. So, I pulled out my Mom’s light box and copied them by hand onto regular paper (which took practically forever, but still faster than what I was doing before), then I scanned them in and colored them in GIMP. (I finally figured out how to use that program! Funny though, I thought you could do vectors in it too, but it’s just bitmaps.)

But then I woke up this morning (late) and realized it wasn’t done yet, and I have lunch with her today! Yeah, it was time to freak out. First off, apparently OpenOffice can’t open Word 2010 docs. Second, working with a non double negative printer (aka can’t flip the page and print on both sides) is a pain. Let’s just say that most of the pages I ended up printing on twice (luckily it was the same image) and one of them has a distinct line where I stopped the printing, plus if you hang the calendar on the wall, the pictures are upside down (and I was proud of myself for getting the right pictures with the right months!). Despite all that, I think she’ll be pleased with it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

