jump to navigation

Penland School of Crafts – A Crafter’s Dream January 28, 2011

Posted by Sindy in Links.
trackback

I learned about Penland on a TV show the other day and I was instantly intrigued.

I love learning new crafts/skills, but when my local college stopped teaching some of the classes I wanted to take (jewelry making for one) and the local community doesn’t offer them either I have little chance (beside the Internet) to learn some of the ones I’m interested in (jewelry, airbrushing cars, screen printing, Nanjudi lace, etc.). Partly in response to the lack of DIY classes and because I’d love to teach this kind of stuff, I’d love to open a center like Penland (well, my own version anyway).

Penland offers classes in all sorts of crafts including weaving, printing, clay, glass work, and they even have a special class for artistic shoe making (I so wish I could take that one)! Since it’s in a forested area (somewhere in North Carolina) it’s like going to an adult summer camp! (Only people aged 18+ are allowed.) Sounds like super fun to me. Of course the tuition is like going to a community college (i.e. a few thousand for a semester, or up to a thousand for a couple weeks – is that how much a regular summer camp costs?), so it’s a little steep for my blood right now, but maybe one day I’ll save it up. In the meantime, I will dream of creating my own craft center/school.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

