jump to navigation

Fascinating Fashion February 1, 2012

Posted by Sindy in Fashion, Sewing, Weekend Project(s).
trackback

I don’t tend to watch the fashion shows, even the red carpet makes me long for the Victorian era (at least part of it), but I’m amazed at all the people out in the DIY scene who have taken ideas from the runway and made their own at home.

Here are some I found just today – they even have a tutorial so you can make your own:

The Fendi Frill by Honestly WTF

Erica from Honestly WTF turned the Fendi Frill into reality with a pin-on version that adds ruffle to any blouse. Actually, you could even make a couple of them and pin them to your pants for a faux bell bottoms look.

Schouler Scroll Necklace by Honestly WTF

If I HAD to wear a large necklace (I usually don’t since I’m kind of a petite girl) I’d go with this lovely yet fascinating Schouler Scroll Necklace, again by Erica of Honestly WTF. Her ingenious process includes using wood accents you’d find in the hardware store. I don’t think I would have thought of that.

Now for one of my favorite crafters, Corinne Czar of Craftovision (formerly of Threadbangers), who brings us these rather fun Doily Wedge Shoes! I think it would be fun to combine this idea with the following by Corinne’s good friend (and fellow Threadbanger) Meg Allan Cole:

In this video, Meg blocks off and paints the heels of a pair of wedges. I’ve also seen ideas where the heel (or other parts of the shoe) are covered with gems. Wouldn’t that be so fun for jazzing up a random pair of shoes? Maybe even my stiletto boots?

With all these great ideas, I could become a runway fashionista in a quick weekend. 😀

Have you seen any other runway ideas turned DIY tutorials? Which are your favorites? Send me a comment and let me know.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

