jump to navigation

Etch-a-Glass March 23, 2013

Posted by Sindy in My Original Ideas.
trackback

Several years ago when I was a teenager, back in the neolithic period (not the jurassic – I’m not that old yet) I went to a church activity where I was first introduced to glass etching. We made “root beer” steins by plastering them with stickers, smearing on some toxic goo, and then washing away the cheap, glittered pictures. I must admit it was fun, although I should have been more careful which stickers I put where.

Back to the present, I’ve been seeing plenty of pins on pinterest with the same concept – apply stickers, smear goo, wait then wash. One of these days I’ll do it again, but maybe this time I’ll try something new.

This morning I was visiting my Mom and saw an old lamp with an etched glass base. Apparently whoever made it had painted the glass with flowers and stems and then etched the rest. Well, eventually some of the paint has chipped off (it’s possible they just used craft paint instead of glass paint), leaving a clear, un-etched line.

Lightbulb! You can draw your own designs on the glass before you etch it! You can use craft paint, but then you’d have to chip it off, but how about something more easily removable – gluegun! I’d suggest a lo-temp gluegun to draw your own design, etch the glass, wash it, and the glue will peel right off. Again, like the busy and cheap person I am, I haven’t tried this yet, so this is just a theory right now. Who knows, maybe the glue with crack giving the etching a crackled look. (Hmmm, I wonder if I can use crayon or wax to get even more of a crackled look like batik.)

Anyway, let me know if you try it. In fact, put some photos in your comment. I’d love to see what this does.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

