jump to navigation

A Different Way to Wear Acrylic Nails June 25, 2013

Posted by Sindy in Fashion, Jewelry, My Original Ideas, Nail Art, Tutorial Tuesday.
trackback

So the other day I was surfing YouTube for new nail art ideas when I came across a super awesome 3D one. Talk about Wow! It was super beautiful, but there’s no way I could wear 3D nail art – too much crafting, gardening, etc. Also, a lot of these acrylic nails are gorgeous, but I do not like the idea of those glues and they’re so thick, so I’ll never wear those either. Then I saw a ladies earrings that looked very similar to acrylic nails. Idea! Why not use these beauties as pendants in jewelry!

Acrylic Nail Jewelry Set

Acrylic Nail Jewelry

Supplies:

  • Acrylic Nails – I just used little kid’s acrylic nails cause they were cheap
  • Rotary Tool like a Dremel – mine is an off brand, but still works
  • Drill Bit – make sure it’s a little bigger than your jump rings
  • Scrap Wood – this is to drill against, so it’s going to get holes in it
  • Plastic-Cutting Scissors – remember to never use your fabric or paper scissors for cutting plastic
  • Jewelry Pliers
  • Jewelry Findings – jump rings, earrings (I have both pierced and non-pierced pictured), necklace chain, etc.
  • Warm Water (optional) – this is for removing the adhesive from the nails (more info below)

Supplies

Step 1. (Optional)

Remove the adhesive. These little kid’s acrylic nails came with adhesive (which I hear most acrylic nails do not). The package said to soak the nails to loosen the glue when you’re done wearing them, so I thought I’d try doing that for removing the glue. Worked pretty good. So, soak the nails in warm water then carefully use your finger nails to scrape the adhesive pad out.

Soak Nails in Warm Water

Step 2.

Since I’m sure some people would be grossed out that you’re wearing finger nails (even though you haven’t worn them) I cut mine into different shapes using my plastic-cutting scissors. You could do almost any shape you wanted. Since these have blue stars on them I thought it would be fun to do a star shape. I did three of those (two for the earrings and one for the necklace focal point). I also did a couple moons and the smaller ones I just cut into circles. Be careful if the nails are thin like these were, they crack easily. I first drew the desired shape on the back (a bit tricky, but easier than the front) then cut them out.

Draw on Back of Nail

Cut Into Different Shapes

Step 3.

Since these nails were so thin I started the holes by punching a small hole with a needle (BTW, I shouldn’t have used a hammer on the needle), and then I used my  Dremel wannabe to drill the hole to the right size.

Start Hole with Needle

Drill Hole

Step 4.

I then strung jump rings through the holes and laid them out for the necklace. One cool thing about using nails is they come in decreasing sizes which is fun for making jewelry.

Lay Out Necklace

Step 5.

Of course just attach the nails onto the necklace and earrings via the jump rings, and you’re done!

Done Necklace

Done Earring

Question: What can I call this jewelry? (So I don’t gross people out.) Leave me a comment with your ideas.

BTW, since I’m trying to get back to my writing after my fabulous conference, I might not be back for a while. If I do, I’ll try to have tutorials that aren’t just fast/easy for you, but for me too. Thanks for your patience, and have fun!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

