jump to navigation

Decorate a Filing Cabinet – Super Easy July 23, 2013

Posted by Sindy in Home Decor, Tutorial Tuesday.
trackback

I think I mentioned a few weeks ago that I got a new file cabinet. Well, it was looking a bit sad and blank so I thought I’d fix decorate it.

This is a quick and easy tutorial, and I can almost bet you have all the supplies already.

Plain filing cabinet   Finished, decorated cabinet

Supplies:

  • Scrapbooking paper (I used 8 1/2″ x 11″ sheets, but you can use whatever size)
  • Double-stick tape (aka double-sided tape)
  • Paper scissors
  • A screwdriver (or whatever tool you need for the cabinet handles)
  • Measuring tape
  • Pencil (not shown)

Supplies

Step 1. Measure the Drawer Fronts

The bottom one is 13″ x 11.” The other two are 13″ x 5 1/2.”

Measure drawer fronts

Measure drawer fronts

Step 2. Mark Where to Place the Paper

Since my bottom drawer front is larger than my paper I decided to center it. That leaves 1″ on the right and left, and 1 1/4″ on the top and bottom. I did the same borders for the other two drawers.

Mark drawer where to place the paper

Step 3. Mark and Cut the Paper

I’m using the full sheet for my bottom drawer, but for the other two drawers that’s 5 1/2″ – 2 1/2″ (1 1/4″ x 2) = 3″ width for my paper.

Mark and cut the paper

Step 4. Remove the Handles

Need I explain? Just use the screwdriver to remove the handles.

Tip: Do steps 4-7 to one drawer at a time, and do NOT close the drawer after you remove the handle. (Can you guess how I figured that one out?)

Remove the drawer handles

Step 5. Tape the Corners and Apply the Paper

Add double-stick tape to the corners of the paper (or you can put it on the cabinet where the corners of the paper will go) and stick it to the drawer fronts.

Tape the corners of the paper

Apply the paper to the drawer fronts

Step 6. Punch Holes for the Screws

Use the phillips bit on the screwdriver to punch holes through the paper.

Tip: To help you find the holes (instead of marring the paper) shine a flashlight behind the drawer front.

Punch holes with the screwdriver for the screws

Step 7. Replace the Handles

Tip: To make it easier to reattach handles that require two or more screws, tighten each screw only half way. Then go back to each screw and tighten it down the rest of the way. This way you get each side of the handle into place before you tighten the screw and make it difficult to move the other side into place.

Replace the handles

Step 8. Done!

I found some fun Spring magnets to go with the windy pattern on the paper (at least I think it looks “windy”) and I attached a note with a possible nail art design.

Of course, you can change up the paper as often as you like. You can even use magnets instead of tape, or just use the handles to hold the paper in place.

Finished, decorated cabinet

Seeking Ideas:

Now, my paper wasn’t big enough for the bottom drawer. Instead of buying expensive 11″ x 17″ decorative paper, what else can I do to completely cover my drawers?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

