jump to navigation

Lessons of Bitter Eggplant November 5, 2014

Posted by Sindy in Cooking.
trackback

So for dinner the other night I cooked up a bunch of battered fried eggplant – one of my favorite ways to have eggplant. Sadly the batter was a lame flavor (even though I added salt, pepper, and paprika) and many of the eggplants were really bitter. I fixed both by drowning it in chipotle ketchup.

The next day I was talking to my Mom about something and mentioned my sad eggplant dinner. “Sindy,” she said, “you remember what to do about bitter eggplant, don’t you?” “Um, no,” I had to admit. “Don’t you remember what I used to do? In fact, I don’t cook eggplant anymore without doing it.” A memory of a bowl of eggplant sitting in the fridge flashed into my mind. Oops. I had totally forgotten.

How to prepare eggplant:

  1. Peel and slice eggplant into 1/2 inch thick slices (you may also cube the eggplant, or whatever the recipe calls for)
  2. Place eggplant in a bowl and cover with nice warm water
  3. Add enough salt to make the water way too salty but not so much that it’s totally gross
  4. Let it soak for at least 1/2 hour in the fridge. Dunk the floating eggplant down in the water every so often so it gets as much soaking as you can give it. Don’t worry if it turns a little brownish – it still tastes great and cooking will make it darker anyway
  5. Drain and cook as normal

As for the lame batter, I’ll have to google something. I guess that means I’ll need more eggplant to experiment with. 😉

Have fun and be good! 😀

– Sindy

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

